Institute of Cultural Studies, Beside Pit Theater, OAU, Ile-Ife.
Mon - Fri 08:00-16:00

Prof. Gbenga Fasiku


The current Director of the Institute is Gbenga Fasiku. He is a Professor of Philosophy, specializing in Philosophy of Mind, Metaphysics and African Philosophy. He teaches at the Department of Philosophy of the Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile Ife.|

Telephone & WhatsApp: +2348037276386

read more

Akin Adejuwon

Ag. Curator (Museums)

Akin Adejuwon has been the Ag. Curator of the Martin Aworinlewo Odeyemi Museum of Antiquities and Contemporary African Art, an integral component of the Institute of Cultural Studies since 2007. | +234(0)8039445330

read more

Akin Adejuwon

Chief Oladimeji Awelewa

Chief Oladimeji Awelewa is a Principal Artist in the Institute. He holds a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Dramatic Arts, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile Ife. He specialises in Technical Theatre and is currently in charge of technical matters in the Institute.

read more

Chief Olaposi Ogunremi

Artistes-in-Residence/Research Fellows

Chief Olaposi Ogunremi is an accomplished ewi poet, literary historian and dramatist. He was the founder of the famous Olaposi Theatre, an outfit that took many great plays around the major towns of Yorubaland in the 1980s and 90s in the tradition of the Alarinjo Travelling Theatre.

read more

Wole Alade

Artistes-in-Residence/Research Fellows

Wole Alade is an accomplished jazz musician who has brought to the Institute a wealth of experience covering over three decades of sojourn and artistic productivity in the USA. A graduate of the then University of Ife before he left the shores of Nigeria for the USA, Wole Alade is a songwriter, singer and multi-talented instrumentalist with a vast exposure to most classical and popular musical genres.

read more


Looking for an Institution with rich African cultural heritage achieves?

Past Research Fellows and Artistes-in-Residence:

Some notable past Research Fellows and Artistes-in-Residence include::

  • Professor Akinwumi Isola,

  • Chief Ifayemi Elebuibon (Araba Awo of Osogbo),

  • Alagba Adebayo Faleti,

  • Uncle Jimi Solanke,

  • Alagba Supo Koseemani,

  • Dr. Oluseyi Ogunjobi.